The Committee

The Alliance Française de Newcastle is an Australian not for profit association and Registered Charity.

It is run by a team of volunteers who dedicate their time and skills to ensure the continuity of French classes and events each year. 

2022 Committee Members 

- Marie-Laure Vuaille Barcan (President)
- John Beach (Vice President)
- Dave Mavor (Treasurer)
- Stéphanie Macdonald (Secretary)
- Gwendoline Mooney (Public Officer)
- Marie-Ellen Brokensha
- Pierre-Alain Viguier
- Alison Matthews
- Louise Barcan
- Ihssane Zouikr
- Sophie Rankin
- Lindsay Mason
- Cecile Signoret
- Sharon Bouttell
- Lynne Sherwood

If you would like to help or volunteer at the AF de Newcastle or if you would like to be part of the committee in 2024, please contact us. 

The AFN Coordinator/Administrator

In addition to the committee, there is a part-time Administrator and Coordinator ( Gwendoline Mooney) who organises classes, students enrollments, responds to enquiries, manages the website and AFN events along the year. 

Contact us

Please note that there are no office hours. 

Alliance Française de Newcastle

63 Scott Street, Newcastle, NSW 2300
Completely accessible
Tramway Stop "Newcastle Beach"

PO Box 505
Jesmond, NSW 2299

We would like to acknowledge the traditional owners of the land on which the Alliance Française de Newcastle stands and remind people that we live and work on Aboriginal land.
We pay our respects to elders, past, present and emerging.  ​

Copyright © 2017 Alliance Française Newcastle.  Design by Monsieur Graphic.